Daily Prayer websites

Links to Daily Prayer websites

The Liturgy of Hours



Liturgy of Hours

The structure of the offices, the distribution of psalms, and the prayers were updated. The distinction, already expressed in the 1960 Rubrics, between the three major hours (Matins, Lauds and Vespers) and the minor hours (Terce, Sext, None and Compline) has been retained.


Office of Readings, (formerly Matins) – major hour (traditionally said at 2 a.m.)

Lauds or Morning Prayer – major hour (traditionally said at 5 a.m.)

Daytime Prayer – minor hour or hours, one or more of:

Terce or Midmorning Prayer before Noon (traditionally said at 9 a.m.)

Sext or Midday Prayer (traditionally said at 12 noon)

None or Afternoon Prayer (traditionally said at 3 p.m.)

Vespers or Evening Prayer – major hour (traditionally said “at the lighting of the lamps” 6 p.m.)

Compline or Night Prayer – minor hour (traditionally said before retiring, about 7 p.m.)